ever if i never

​ever if i never

This is the stuff of diagonal 

blisses, the

impetus for woebegone wishes and lack-

luster languish for yesteryear.

 

Of all 

 

  the things

 

    I   never   thought

 

I never dreamed

you’d be left, forgotten;

Silhouette on the mountain-top.

 

Wind in the wheat.

A shadow on the street somewhere.

A street I’ll never see.

 

You have gone the way

of were-wolves and vagabonds and ocean fishes.

Vampire tales and (paper)

trails of murderers

got away, unscathed.

 

Let me just say

I miss your “hellos”s

And I miss your “good-bye”s

 

If ever I never

find the street on which you’re standing,

 

I

just want

 to

tell you I’m with you:

I know you.

You have never gone away.

       -clw

          1-17-12

Leave a Reply

