legs

for L Sr Prasad
really small i would fall
walking on my legs, toes turned toward

one another–teenage parents, dropped out together, run for ‘freedom’ to the Red state

where the alcoholic father, always a secret now,

went to his sister, 1 child in tow

and me on the way.

cried when they put my shoes on.

cried when they put me in the bed with them.

couldn’t talk but everything hurt.

thank God for surgery at 5:

… I guess my mother learned something right

from that one time she read

TIME Magazine. 

  -clw

     11-2-16 

copyright: C. Ward 2016

Leave a Reply

